3 Cute Halloween Snacks ||Leah

Hi guys!!  Sorry it’s been so long since I’ve posted.  I have just been so caught up in homework, and school, and sports, and…life lately that I haven’t had much free time.  I’m sure that you all can relate.  However, now that the cross country season is over and school is sort of settling into more of a routine, I will (hopefully) have more time to blog.  Alright.  Now that’s out of the way, I CANNOT believe how incredibly fast this year has flown by!  TODAY IS HALLOWEEN!  I haven’t gone trick-or-treating for many years now, but I still enjoy the spooks and frights that this holiday brings.  Along with Halloween (and every holiday, let’s be honest) comes lots of treats, snacks, and goodies.  Today that’s just what I have to share with you – three super simple, super cute Halloween snacks.

 

Halloween Pretzel Rods

I got this first snack from a blog called bellyfull.net, and I’ll put the exact links for all three of the snacks that I’m sharing today down below.  I think that these pretzel rods look absolutely adorable – and they literally took less than five minutes to make!  All you need is three ingredients to make these treats that taste just as delicious as they look!

IMG_6784.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 1 Package Thick Pretzel Rods (I used Honey Wheat Braided Pretzels to make mini pretzel rods.  Either is fine, the same directions apply.)
  • 6 oz. White Baking Chocolate Chips (almond bark would work as well.)
  • Halloween Sprinkles (or anything, really.  Feel free to make these as festive as you want!)

Directions:

Line a cookie sheet with wax paper.  Put some of the baking ships into a microwave-safe bowl and heat in 15-30 second intervals, stirring in between each one.  When the chocolate is completely melted and smooth, take one of your pretzels and dip it into the chocolate until the pretzel is about 3/4 of the way coated.  Gently shake the pretzel to remove any excess chocolate.  Then take your festive sprinkles and sprinkle some onto the chocolate.  I did this part over a bowl so that extra sprinkles didn’t roll all over.  When you have decorated to your heart’s desire, place the completed pretzel rod onto your prepared cookie sheet.  These pretzel rods will need to be refrigerated for 5-10 minutes to allow the chocolate to cool and harden.

*You can even make these for any holiday simply by switching up your sprinkles!!

Edible Earwax On A Swab

This snack also came from bellyfull.net.  They might sound a little gross, but they are actually pretty good.  I mean, peanut butter goes with anything and everything, am I right??

IMG_6787.jpg

Ingredients:

  • Mini Marshmallows
  • Peanut Butter (or other nut butter)
  • 4 Inch Lollipop Sticks (we could not find these in the store, so I ended up buying a bag of dum-dums and cutting the sticks off.  I realize that cake pop sticks or toothpicks would work as well.)

Directions:

Take your lollipop stick and poke a marshmallow onto each end of it.  Then lightly dab the tops of each marshmallow in some peanut butter.

*How easy was that?!  Probably took about a minute!

Used Band-Aids

These band-aids came from katherinemaries.com.  This snack is super simple as well, and just requires three ingredients.

IMG_6796.jpg

Ingredients:

  • Cinnamon Graham Crackers
  • Cream Cheese (the original calls for frosting; it’s fine either way.)
  • Strawberry Jam

Directions: Split your graham crackers into their individual rectangles.  Take some cream cheese and spread it as evenly as possible onto the graham cracker, making a square-ish shape.  Then, take knife and dip it into the strawberry jam.  Carefully place some of the jam onto your band-aid.  You don’t want the jam to cover the entire white strip.

And that’s all!  Like I said, the original links are down below.  I really hope that you all enjoyed this tutorial.  I had a lot of fun making these treats, and I want to do more recipe posts in the future.  That being said, I’d love to hear from you – comment and let me know if there are any specific recipes or themed food that you would like to see me make!

IMG_6798.jpg

xo, Leah

Links:

http://katherinemaries.com/blog/archives/7242

bellyfull.net/2013/10/14/edible-earwax-on-a-swab/

bellyfull.net/2012/10/11/halloween-pretzel-rods-and-a-fabulous-calphalon-giveaway/

Leave a Reply

